Wedding and Honeymoon Journal: Entry #6

May 30, 2009 at 10:27 PM (Travel, Wedding)

We got married on May 24, 2009 in Juneau, Alaska on the Gilkey Glacier.  We enjoyed a spectacular honeymoon in Juneau, Alaska as well.  We kept a handwritten journal throughout our trip.  A master list of all journal entries can be found here.

***

Sunday, May 24, 2009 – 9:28 AM AKDT

Today is the big day!  I slept in until a little after 8 AM, although I think I was technically awake earlier due to Stephanie’s inability to sleep.

Let’s see, things on my checklist for today:

  1. Take shower
  2. Put on tuxedo
  3. Make sure I have the rings
  4. Continue breathing

I know, it’s tough being me.  I won’t even begin to list the things Stephanie has to do today.  There is a lot of paper in this journal, but I don’t think it is enough to cover all of that.  Suffice to say that she has a small circus that is tuned to work in concert like a world class ballet.

Had some chia oatmeal for breakfast.  It was okay.  I’m not a huge oatmeal guy so I wasn’t really excited about it.

I’m sitting in the gazebo with Stephanie right now.  It is fairly breathtaking.  I keep making internal notes about landscaping I would like to emulate at our home.  Weather has been absolutely fantastic so far, and it looks like it will continue for the rest of the day.  “I love it when a plan comes together.”  All I needed was a nice stogy to pull that line off properly.  Let’s hear it for the A-Team references in a wedding journal.  Yay!

I’m supposed to take it easy food-wise until after the wedding.  Good thing I stocked up on Coke last night.  I even got some beef jerky and Transformers fruit chews, too.  I’ll be just fine since I have almost all of the 4 major food groups accounted for there, I think.

I’m tempted to take the paddle boat out today, but Stephanie and I have already discussed how we think today should be.  Basically, we decided that the overwhelming theme of Saturday and Sunday is “Don’t do anything that could endanger the wedding taking place as planned and with no problems.”  Basically, if there is a chance of turning an ankle, breaking a bone, or, in the case of the paddle boat, suffering from hypothermia after flipping the tiny boat over and taking a dunk in icy cold water, we avoid those activities.  Pretty simple overall.  We’ll have the entirety of the rest of the week to hurt ourselves.

Well that’s enough for now.  I have some Coke to drink while I wait to hyphenate my last name. 🙂

– Ben

Ben sleeping hard the morning of the wedding.

Ben sleeping hard the morning of the wedding.

Stephanie's jewelry and headpiece.

Stephanie's jewelry and headpiece.

Ben handwriting this journal entry.

Ben handwriting this journal entry.

A statue that we loved in the Pearson's Pond gardens.

A fountain that we loved in the Pearson's Pond gardens.

Stephanie hanging out with Ben on the morning of the wedding.

Stephanie hanging out with Ben on the morning of the wedding.

Ben getting beautified for the wedding.

Ben getting beautified for the wedding.

Ben's tux and Stephanie's petticoat hanging.

Ben's tux and Stephanie's petticoat hanging.

Ben calling his mom.  Awwwwwww :)  Last conversation with her before getting married.

Ben calling his mom. Awwwwwww 🙂 Last conversation with her before getting married.

2 Comments

  1. Ram said,

    Did you forget to take your shaver?looks like you are holding it in two fingers….

    • Ben said,

      I use my fingers to hold the angle of the shaver head consistent. It was my wedding day, so I chose to be conservative to avoid cutting myself. Stephanie would have killed me if I had a huge gash on my neck in the pictures. 🙂

Leave a Reply

