Wedding and Honeymoon Journal: Entry #4

May 30, 2009 at 5:54 PM (Travel, Wedding)

We got married on May 24, 2009 in Juneau, Alaska on the Gilkey Glacier.  We enjoyed a spectacular honeymoon in Juneau, Alaska as well.  We kept a handwritten journal throughout our trip.  A master list of all journal entries can be found here.

***

Saturday, May 23, 2009 – 6:47 PM AKDT

Man, what a day!  I suppose I’ll go over the main events for the day to start.  No major details; Stephanie, I’m sure, will cover those.

We drove to the “end” of the major road, stopping at every pullover and labeled place along the way.  Lots of pictures were taken.  If there was a photo god, he’d be smiling down on Stephanie right now.  After that we went to a restaurant for a very late lunch.  The Hangar served me the most giant-sized serving of nachos I think I’ve ever seen.  With halibut instead of chicken!  It was smothered in cheese, guacamole, and sour cream; which incidentally is the way I think quite a few things should be served.  But that is a topic for another time.

We stopped at Wal-Mart on the way home to pick up some snack food for the week since you can’t just go out to eat whenever you want in Juneau.  They have odd hours that seem to cater to tourists from cruise ships.  When we got back to Pearson’s Pond we hopped in the hot tub.  Good times!

Right now I’m sitting outside with a Coke enjoying the temperate Alaska outdoors.  I really like the weather here right now.  I bet it’d be cool to come back and see what this place is like during the dead of winter instead of the beginning of spring.

One really odd thing I’ve noticed is the sheer number of crows (Note: we later found out they are mostly ravens) here in Alaska.  I bet they out number humans 100:1.  They are everywhere!  And they aren’t your average shy bird either.  They’ll stare you down like there’s some sort of game of chicken on the line.

Also, I think I can count the number of cars/wagons I’ve seen on one hand.  Everyone, almost, drives a truck or SUV, usually a large one.  Never before have I seen a Toyota Yaris look so out of place.  It all makes sense of course; it’s frickin’ Alaska for gosh sakes.  Still, it does take some getting used to.

Since we had a very late lunch and just went shopping for snacks, we decided we wouldn’t eat out tonight.  I don’t know what we are going to do yet.  For certain, I know I won’t be watching TV.  Ha!

The excitement surrounding the wedding tomorrow is certainly beginning to build.  I know I’m excited!  Diane is working hard and is getting everything double checked and finalized.  Have I ever mentioned how much I love being male?  I mean, I get to pee standing up and my big job over the course of the wedding is to stay out of the way.  Gotta love that!

Alright, my hand is sore.  I’ll check back in tomorrow!

– Ben

The University of Alaska Southeast

The University of Alaska Southeast

Totem pole on The University of Alaska Southeast campus.

Totem pole on The University of Alaska Southeast campus.

The University of Alaska Southeast

The University of Alaska Southeast

Wedding and Honeymoon 234

Wedding and Honeymoon 247

Wedding and Honeymoon 249

Wedding and Honeymoon 258

Wedding and Honeymoon 263

It had just snowed a couple of weeks before we arrived.

It had just snowed a couple of weeks before we arrived.

Halibut nachos at The Hangar.

Halibut nachos at The Hangar.

Ben writing in our journal.

Ben writing in our journal.

Leave a Reply

