Wedding and Honeymoon Journal: Entry #3

May 30, 2009 at 4:12 PM (Travel, Wedding)

We got married on May 24, 2009 in Juneau, Alaska on the Gilkey Glacier.  We enjoyed a spectacular honeymoon in Juneau, Alaska as well.  We kept a handwritten journal throughout our trip.  A master list of all journal entries can be found here.

***

Saturday, May 23, 2009 – 8:37 AM AKDT

We’ve been up for over half an hour now here at Pearson’s Pond.  Since we got in kind of late last night (10 PM AKDT), Diane had a homemade spinach frittata in the fridge in our room so that we could sleep in and then have a tasty breakfast.  We failed miserably at the sleeping in part, but we definitely enjoying the spinach frittata and fresh strawberries.

I tried on my tux already (they had it here waiting for me; awesome!).  I have some reservations about how it fits but Stephanie thinks it looks good.  I’m no tiny guy, but the vest and jacket seem to have a lot of extra room in the stomach area.  I could probably fit a small child in there.

We have plans to visit some sort of Alaska museum today if we can find it.  I think we will be successful and it will be pretty cool.

Our rental car is a Ford Edge, a red / maroon mid-sized SUV.  It’s definitely no Honda or Toyota, but hey, it was free (Thank you, Allegacy points!) so I won’t complain.  I think we would have rather had a car that was a bit kinder on the gas, but given the semi-mountainous terrain we may end up appreciating the extra power.

Stephanie is pretty much walking around with a perma-grin.  No question she’s excited to be here.

I’m excited too, but I’m still suffering through some of the effects of flying yesterday.  Both times when we landed, or more specifically began the landing process by dropping altitude, my ears felt like they had all sorts of pressure on them.  The pain was excruciating.  I was doing everything I could in an effort to get my ears to pop, with little success.  It definitely sucked.  I may go see a doctor when we get back home to see if I have some sort of ear issue.

Twittering on the trip has been fun.   I like to keep Stephanie on her toes by threatening to send out tweets that she doesn’t approve of.  The looks I get are awesome.

It’s time for me to take a shower, but I’m looking forward to being the navigator while Stephanie drives.  I hope we see some wildlife while we’re out today.

– Ben

Ben trying on his tux.

Ben trying on his tux.

Our rental car.

Our rental car.

1 Comment

  1. Ram said,

    thats a big car just for two of you…nice pics…

Leave a Reply

