Top 10: As I Get Older…

April 12, 2009 at 10:16 PM (Family, Food, Friends, Gaming, Home Improvement, Humor, Sports, Top 10 Lists)

This weekend was a busy one for Stephanie and I.  She’s going to write about all of the fun and not so fun stuff we did in a post of her own, but it got us thinking about how we aren’t kids anymore.  So without going into too much detail about the weekend itself, here are 10 things that make me feel as though I’m getting really old really quickly along with 10 things that make me feel like a big kid most of the time.  If you can identify with any of these, let me know.  Feel free to share your own moments, too!

Things That Make Me Feel Old

  1. Stephanie and I drove to 5 different stores looking for just the right pair of large pots in which to plant some perennials. We ended up going back to the 3rd store, in case you were wondering.  I suppose this could be 2 items by itself.  We were shopping for plants and also were looking for a pot, of all things–definitely a moment of realization that reminded me that I am becoming more and more like my parents every day.  Additionally, we’re able to have long, detailed conversations about the plants we see in yards we pass.  I actually know the names of several plants that I would like us to have at some point.  Wisteria, one day I will have a place for you!
  2. I can wait to open things. One of my best friends, Charles (a.ka. Porkchop), got a PS3 for Stephanie and I as a wedding gift.  It sat unopened for at least 3 days.  I certainly never saw that one coming.
  3. I tidied up my desk at work. No one asked me to or anything.  It just happened.  It was almost like an out-of-body experience.
  4. My nephew, age 7, will most likely never play a video game that is not in HD. How am I supposed to explain the hours that my first NES joyfully occupied in my life?
  5. I don’t know if anyone besides me has been looking for good ol’ shooter-type games, like Gradius, Life Force, R-Type, or 1942, but they are damn hard to find. Near impossible.  The side- and top-scrolling shooting genre seems to be left behind.  Thanks to the wonders of the Sony Playstation network, there are a few downloadable games that fit this role.  You can download a direct port of the original R-Type I and II as a bundle and there is a remake of 1942 called 1942 Joint Strike that is pretty fun.  What I really want is a frickin’ $50-$60 full on new game.  I’d take a new sequel, even.  Imagine Gradius V or something, not as some little afterthought $9.99 downloadable special, but as the monster time killer that it could be.  It could have a bajillion different powerups and stuff.  Remember when a lot of enemies would get on screen at one time and the game would slow down because of the overload?  Or imagine if enemy ships were fully realized 3D models that could rotate.  What if the game got more physics based?  There is just a ton of stuff out there, and the best game genre of my youth is a dying creature that has failed to adapt over the years.
  6. I was at a neighbor’s house a few weeks ago and ended up playing some Rockband 2 with his kids.  I sucked.  They rocked. Worse yet, I was sitting there amazed that they were able to kick butt like that.  It seems like an eternity ago that I was the one kicking ass and taking names at any game that was put in front of me.  I beat Golden Axe in 2 hours on Christmas day!  I keep wanting to find a way to make them play the original Ninja Gaiden on the NES with me, but I have a feeling they’d smack me around with that one too after 10 minutes or so.
  7. Some kids rode their bikes across our yard as a shortcut yesterday.  I was mildly offended. I was shocked that I was offended.  I grew up making shortcuts out of peoples’ yards with my bike.  God forbid those poor people had a mild incline or even a hill, because that bad boy was going to get jumped on my badass BMX several times daily.  Egads!
  8. I can watch golf on TV. ‘Nuff said.
  9. I see kids doing things and think to myself that what they are doing isn’t safe and wondering where their parents are. Worse yet, I see kids doing things and make a mental note that my kids are never going to do what I’m witnessing.  Additionally, I see young girls out and about and consider joining a religious cult that will make it impossible for any daughters we have to display any skin at all.
  10. I am used to being called “sir” when I go out. That’s fine.  It’s just good manners.  I still say it to folks, no matter their age.  However, I was called “mister” by a teenager at the grocery store not that long ago.  I don’t even know why that got under my skin, but it did.

Things That Make Me Feel Young

  1. I get excited about playing video games. I was downloading some stuff from the Playstation network and I felt like a kid in a candy shop.
  2. I laugh at farts, especially when I drop a silent one and am waiting for my unsuspecting victim.
  3. I still rate my own belches on a personal scale that takes into account both volume and duration.
  4. I still play with Transformers. Additionally I get a giddy feeling when I think about the new Transformers movie coming out in June.
  5. Baseball is just as boring to watch on television now as it was when I was growing up. I like when some things don’t change.
  6. I still visit Toys ‘R Us and roam the toy aisles of stores. Shopping for stuff for my niece and nephew is my cover story.  Shhhh.
  7. If my friends get a new board game, I can’t wait to play it with them.
  8. I still like Honda Civics.
  9. I still get psyched up about opening Christmas gifts. Sure, I’m not getting Super Mario Bros. 3 this year, but I still think a gas gauge for my grill is pretty spiffy.
  10. Mom’s macaroni and cheese is still as good today as it was when I was growing up. And it’s still a holiday-only specialty.  Let’s hear it for good times!

– Ben

2 Comments

  1. Aubre said,

    Oh my gosh, I have to say this made my Monday! The lists were hilarious…that must be because I feel the same way about being old/young. Great post! Thanks!

  2. chop said,

    1942 is amazing…i agree with everything…except for the whole sir thing…i say sir to everyone younger and older its just a matter of respect

Leave a Reply

