Weekend Happenings

March 2, 2009 at 8:31 PM (Food, Home Improvement, Wedding)

Ben and I had a really productive weekend. Our bedroom furniture was delivered. Woohoo! We LOVE it. This is only the second time that we’ve had high quality furniture. We also paid off my wedding ring which we had laid away when the jewelry store had a big sale a few months ago. Additionally, we browsed around for Ben’s wedding band and he found one that he likes. While at the mall, I made an appointment to have my wedding make-up trial run this Friday. My friends Blair, Heather, and Jenna are arriving Friday for a wedding weekend. I’m super excited!

Ben also made beef jerky for the first time ever. It turned out to be really tasty, however, it was quite the process. Between the money and time involved I was quite skeptical. It was a nice treat but not something we can afford to do regularly. You have to cut steak into strips, marinade for 24 hrs, hang each piece from a toothpick in the oven (messy), and cook in the oven for 4 hrs. Check out the pics below.

Around the house we accomplished a few projects. Our plan was to rake the yard but the wet weather stopped us in our tracks. We reorganized our master bedroom closet. Ben also replaced the light fixture in our laundry closet because the original one didn’t have a cover and the light chain broke. We also made our meal plan and went grocery shopping for the week.

Sunday I ended up working about 7 hours so I didn’t get as much done as I wanted around the house or with my dissertation data entry. It did snow all day so that made the day interesting and fun. The snow flakes were huge and beautiful! I wish it stayed around for a few days.

In other news, our last round of tree removal stuff is this week. The ground is really wet and the tree people don’t want to tear up our yard so we don’t know exactly when it will be, but we’re glad it’s going to happen this week.

That’s about it our way!

– Stephanie

Bowl of steak strips.

Bowl of steak strips.

Steak cooking in the oven (for 4 hrs!).

Steak cooking in the oven (for 4 hrs!).

2 Comments

  1. Effie said,

    Wow! That jerky looks tasty. I’ve always wanted to make my own, but it hardly seems worth the trouble!

  2. Kenna said,

    Sounds like you guys had a good weekend! Would love to see some pics of your “trial run” makeup…but if you want to keep it a secret from Ben I understand! : )

Leave a Reply

