Weigh In and Reflections: End of Week 3

January 25, 2009 at 9:25 PM (Healthy Living, Weight Loss)

Stephanie

  • Change from Last Report (1/21/09): +5.3 lbs (eek!)
  • Total Weight Change: -7.8 lbs

Ben

  • Change from Last Report (1/23/09): +1.1 lbs
  • Total Weight Change: -0.6 lbs

Note: We started our journey to lose weight on January 5th, 2009.

We have completed our third week of our new healthy lifestyle!  Yay!  The experience of and the results from this week weren’t very good at all. We’ve each written a few paragraphs below to describe our experiences.

Stephanie

All I can say is ugh.  This week was by far my hardest week.  Specifically Thursday through Saturday were my hardest days.  I was on travel for work and felt myself slipping into a mindless eating state on a few different occasions.  It really began Thursday evening when several co-workers and I went out to dinner.  We went to a fabulous restaurant in Las Cruces, New Mexico called Red Mountain Cafe.  Some of us had been there on our previous trip to New Mexico and had scored some free appetizer coupons.  So, between the 6 of us, we had 4 free appetizers.  I indulged in each of those and also ate my entire meal.  It was excellent.  But now I’m paying for it. 😦  Socializing + awesome food = very very hard.

I also found myself snacking more than usual this past week.  I also ate fewer vegetables and less fruit than usual.  And I drank less water than usual.  All in all, I had several slips this week.  The good news is that a new week starts now.  I’m not traveling for work and I believe that will allow me to be more in control and more mindful with my choices.

I do feel discouraged but I will use this week as inspiration and motivation for next week.  Onward and upward.

Ben

To date, I don’t believe I have taken this as seriously as I should.  I managed to wipe out almost all of the good I’ve done by purchasing a big package of country style ribs this past week and eating almost all of them over the course of several days.  Damn, those ribs were good.  Obviously I need to approach this with renewed effort and enthusiasm.  I’m immensely happy that Stephanie is not going to be traveling a significant amount in the near future.  She’s sort of like a food compass for me.  Keeps me straight and honest.

So for lack of a better term, I get to start over.  Oh, joy.  Note to self: find some self control.

1 Comment

  1. Aubre said,

    Hi guys. I totally am there with you, and Ben, I seem to be in the boat with you…not taking my weight loss seriously and really needing a new start. Thanks to you both for being so honest, it is refreshing to see others being honest with their struggles. I totally understand and am with you two for this journey. I too had a very difficult week with many slip-ups. Thank goodness for new weeks to begin again.

Leave a Reply

