How to Cook Spaghetti Squash

January 19, 2009 at 6:49 PM (Food, Healthy Living, Weight Loss)

We tried something new for dinner tonight.  I had heard of substituting spaghetti squash in place of spaghetti noodles before.  A conversation this past week with my co-worker, Sarah, reminded me that I wanted to try making it sometime.  So, we included spaghetti squash as 2 meals (dinner and leftover lunch the next day) on our weekly meal plan.

How does one go about cooking and preparing spaghetti squash?  Well, my friends, follow me.  Pictures follow the instructions below.

  1. Buy a spaghetti squash. We bought our squash at our local Super Target.  It was about $5.  I’m not sure yet if that is a good price or not.
  2. Cut the squash in half length wise, scoop out pulp and seeds, and place on baking dish. Note that some people cook their squash whole.  After cutting this one in half, I can see why.  It was quite difficult to cut and I kept feeling like I was going to lose a finger.  As you can see in the picture below, I wasn’t able to cut mine into equal halves.  I may try cooking it whole next time.  If you cook it whole, you simply need to poke holes all over the squash.
  3. Bake in oven at 375 degrees for approximately 50-60 minutes. The inside of the squash will become quite soft.
  4. Use a fork to shred inside of squash from stem to stem. This part is quite fun.  You’ll be amazed at how stringy the insides become and how much “spaghetti” one squash yields.  Make sure you clean the squash out entirely.  You should be left with an empty shell of a squash when you are done.
  5. Add favorite sauce, veggies, toppings, etc. We added garlic and herb spaghetti sauce and ground turkey to the squash.
  6. Enjoy! We thought this was a very tasty meal and definitely healthier than eating pasta.  Admittedly, the texture of the squash is a bit different than spaghetti.  The squash has a small amount of crunch/crispness that even al dente spaghetti doesn’t have.

Don’t be afraid to give spaghetti squash a try.  We will definitely be  making it again!

– Stephanie

Spaghetti squash.

Spaghetti squash.

My attempt at cutting the squash in half (sad).

My attempt at cutting the squash in half (sad).

Squash completely scooped out.

Squash completely scooped out.

Bowl of spaghetti squash.  Yummy!

Bowl of spaghetti squash. Yummy!

2 Comments

  1. Kenna said,

    We tried spaghetti squash one time when we lived back in the apartment. I liked it, but Scott really didn’t like how crispy it was. I wouldn’t mind trying it again, if I could get Scott to eat it.

  2. Sweetie Pie said,

    I met my first spaghetti squash when my parents got the wrong packet of seeds from the seed store. We didn’t have any yellow crookneck squash that year, but we had plenty of these! Imagine our surprise…

    We really liked them and grew them “on purpose” several times after that. I’m glad you liked it. I had kind of forgotten about them, so thanks for the reminder. I’m putting it on the grocery list.

Leave a Reply

