Weigh In and Reflections: End of Week 2

January 18, 2009 at 11:04 AM (Food, Healthy Living, Weight Loss)

Stephanie

  • Change from Last Report (1/17/09): -4.9 lbs
  • Total Weight Change: -13.4 lbs

Ben

  • Change from Last Report (1/17/09):  -1.5 lbs
  • Total Weight Change:  -3.7 lbs

Note: We started our journey to lose weight on January 5th, 2009.

We have completed our second week of our new healthy lifestyle!  Yay!  We definitely feel accomplished and proud of ourselves.  We both had a hard time this week. We’ve each written a few paragraphs below to describe our experiences.

Stephanie

I had one really hard day while I was away in New Mexico.  I worked over 14 hours that particular day.  I was in a ton of meetings and at those meetings they had muffins and various breads.  I indulged in one piece of pumpkin bread early in the day.  Later in the day, I broke down and ate a chocolate macadamia nut muffin.  I tried not to obsess about what I did and just tried to compensate at dinner by insuring that I stayed within a particular calorie range. It’s all about balance.

On a positive note, I did a lot of things right while I was out of town.  I ate healthy, reasonable meals throughout the trip.  I ate fresh produce whenever I possibly could which is sometimes hard while traveling.  I also drank only water  throughout the day and some skim milk for breakfast. No soda, tea, juice, etc.  I managed to consume a lot of water which is typically hard for me.  Being out in the desert helped. 🙂  It was also inconvenient for me to buy soda, juice, etc. at my particular remote work site which also helped.  My throat was constantly dry so water was a must.  Not only did my good decisions lead to weight loss this week, but hopefully they also kept my immune system in check and kept me from getting sick (always a fear with traveling).

Despite the positives, this week was challenging (aka really freaking hard!).  We made it through though and that is what counts.  We haven’t given up and continue to push forward!  One day at a time.

Ben

I’ve struggled significantly since we started making a real attempt to eat better.  The weight loss from a diet change alone hasn’t been as significant for me as it has been for Stephanie.  However, I have her here to keep me straight in my moments of oh-my-god-I-am-going-to-order-a-supreme-pizza-and-eat-the-whole-thing-ness.  The food education that Stephanie has been putting me through has been especially painful.  I don’t mean learning the information; that part is easy.  But finding out that some of my favorite foods are chock full of calories and fat has been a bit demoralizing. I sometimes think I was happier being ignorant about a lot of food information.  I’m surprised at the “badness” of a lot of the things that I was eating.  I mean, I knew they weren’t great, but I had no idea they are as bad as they are.

Previously, I lost a lot of weight (and kept far and away the majority of it off) with a low/no carb diet several years ago.  It was pure bliss.  For those of you that know me, my love of meat makes this an ideal diet for me.  However, Stephanie has us taking a more balanced approach.  It’s been a major and difficult change, since the last time I dieted I could eat a pound of beef as a meal and feel good about it.  Stephanie constantly reminds me of the fact that a serving of meat should be about the size of a deck of playing cards.  That sure isn’t a pound.

Overall though, I’m in a pretty good position.  For instance, I don’t share Stephanie’s addiction to sweets.  So when a meal is finished, I’d rather have another grilled chicken breast than a chocolate dessert of some sort.

Thankfully, I’m starting to see some payoff.  I haven’t lost a lot of weight, but since I didn’t exercise much this past week and made a real effort to eat better, I did manage to lose a few pounds.  This is definitely a good sign and keeps the dieting/lifestyle change morale high.

So, since we are making a permanent change, I’d like to have a moment of silence for some of my old meals, tasty as they were.

  • Goodbye, 4 grilled cheese sandwiches.
  • So long, entire box of Hamburger Helper.
  • I’m going to miss you, 1.5 pounds of steak that I found on sale.
  • Hasta la vista, family pack of country-style ribs that lasts 3 meals.
  • Farewell, gigantic pot of spaghetti that was good for almost a week.
  • Adios, McDonald’s combo with an extra sandwich on the side.
  • Take care, bowl of Coco Puffs followed by a liter of Coca-Cola.
  • Peace out, beautiful Chinese buffet.  I’m going to miss the chicken-on-a-stick and cheesy wontons.

There are going to be times that I’m not perfect.  For instance, I’m heading over to a friend’s house today to watch the AFC and NFC championship games and we’re going to have some ribs and wings.  And in two weeks, I’m going to visit some of my old college buddies for our annual Super Bowl party.  I’m probably not going to be perfect on these days.  In fact, I can probably guarantee it.  This doesn’t mean that I’m going to just mindlessly eat like I used to.  I will need to stay cognizant of what is passing through my mouth in a direct path to my gut (not my stomach, my gut).  I can’t just give myself a free pass for these events and pretend they didn’t happen after the fact.  It is okay to not be perfect when it comes to eating sometimes.  However, it is probably more important to recognize that it’s slowing down the overall goal of weight loss and recognize that I’m going to have to work even harder to undo the bad that I’ve done.

Even still, this is hard.  But I have an awesome buddy to help me get through it. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Matt Hughes said,

    You guys are an inspiration. I really need to get myself in order. My weight is ballooning and i am not feeling confident at all. Keep up the great work.

  2. Aubre said,

    I am so proud of you guys. I totally know how hard it is to change your eating habits. I too am in the same boat and have the same issue as Steph, the addiction (literally addiction) to sweets. It is a hard road, but really is worth the effort. I am doing what you guys are doing….taking it day-by-day and remembering that life still happens and there will be days or events that I won’t make the best decisions. What we need to remember is that the only way to really truly make a lifestyle change is to realize and accept that less than healthy (I hate to use the word “bad) food choices are a part of life, what is MORE important is moving on from those meals/treats and getting back on track. My weight watchers leader always says, don’t let a bad meal lead to a bad day, lead to a bad week, lead to a bad month…..stop the cycle. Own that “bad” meal or treat, enjoy it and then move back into better choices. GO STEPH AND BEN. We can all do this together.

Leave a Reply

